I Ate This: Reese’s Spreads Peanut Butter Chocolate


2014-12-02 13.50.06

I absolutely love peanut butter and I absolutely adore chocolate. In other words, there’s no doubt that peanut buttercups are one of my all-time favorite desserts. While Reese’s are usually my go-to for their convenience factor, they are not my ideal peanut butter cup. Ideally, I want one with more peanut butter and a darker chocolate. Still, there’s something to be said for the overly rich and incredibly familiar nature of a pack of Reese’s, and – for better AND for worse – their Peanut Butter Chocolate spread is exactly that but now in a jar.

Here’s a warning up front: do not buy this product if you have no self-control. If you already eat Nutella by the spoonful, but you’d prefer something closer to a Reese’s peanut buttercup slathering your toast/bread/bagel/whatever, this product will do just that. It brings the same richness, the same calories, and the same fat too. Heaven and hell, this spread is a work of pure genius and pure evil. Don’t go it alone – have friends in mind to split these delicious, delicious hedons with!

2014-12-02 13.52.25

Beyond the fact that this is Reese’s as a spread, I also love the texture. It remains slightly grainy, which gives me the impression that someone chopped up and blended a ton of buttercups to make it. It spreads like room temperature butter too. It’s ugly, but what did you expect from blending two nasty shades of brown together? Rainbows? It tastes like rainbows.

I am lazy, so I opted for a kid-friendly approach and slapped it on a piece of white bread to make a sandwich. My waistline won’t think me, but my soul felt like it was being hugged. This is a concentrated boost of pure Reese’s goodness. It’s too rich for me to eat regularly, especially in sandwich form (and especially considering the large glob I used). I think mixing in some more peanut butter would do the trick. I’m personally a bigger fan of Reese’s Big Cups anyway since the cloying sweetness of milk chocolate has lost its luster in the wake of several years of cultivating a taste and love for the darkest of chocolates.

The possibilities are endless for this stuff. Unlike the extra effort it takes to buy Reese’s and chop/blend/transmogrify them, you could take a big spoon of this and add it to your milkshake/powershake/icecream/morning coffee. How about adding it to your waffle? Or maybe even adding it into your pancake batter? If Hershey ever thinks to manufacture it in larger containers, then surely the obesity crisis here in the United States will reach Zombie Apocalypse levels of civilization meltdown.

You’ve been warned and alerted. Do with this information what you will!


C. T. Murphy can more regularly be found over at his blog, Murf Versus. You can also find him on Twitter, where he is frequently at his weirdest. His favorite food is Thai, though his roots are in Soul Food, and he only ever cooks Tex-Mex. He’s a strange fellow.

 

7 thoughts on “I Ate This: Reese’s Spreads Peanut Butter Chocolate

  1. Did you happen to find this in the heroin isle? Or was is a street dealer who hooked you up? I think the US has a big enough (!) problem with obesity without this delicious nectar being shared.

    Hear that? It’s the sound of a thousand belts getting loosened.

    Damn you

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: I Ate This: Reese’s Spreads Peanut Butter Chocolate | Murf Versus

Leave a Reply

